19 October 2011

Timeline Oct 19 to 22

Oct 19
1781  British troops under Lord Cornwallis surrendered at Yorktown, VA.
1814  An American army under Major-General George Izard advanced from Sacket's Harbour, NY to assault Fort Niagara. At Cook's Mills, after a sharp skirmish, about 750 British troops under Lt-Col Christopher Myers forced the Americans to withdraw.

Oct 20
1803  The US Senate ratified the Louisiana Purchase.
1867  Ottawa was proclaimed as the seat of the national government of Canada.
1873  Nellie McClung, ardent advocate of women's rights in Canada, was born at Chatsworth, Grey County.

Oct 21
1805  A British fleet commanded by Adm. Horatio Nelson defeated a French and Spanish fleet in the Battle of Trafalgar; Nelson was killed in battle.
1841  Monseigneur Charles-Auguste-Marie Joseph de Forbin-Jansen, the bishop of Nancy in exile, laid the cornerstone of Notre Dame Basilica in Bytown.
1879  Thomas Edison invented a workable electric light at his laboratory in Menlo Park, NJ.

Oct 22
1846  The first telegraph company was formed to serve Toronto, Hamilton and Niagara.
1876  The Ottawa Normal School was opened in Ottawa by Egerton Ryerson, in his final act after 32 years as superintendent of education in Ontario.

No comments:

Post a Comment